Gwinnett runners earn all-area, all-region honors

Peachtree Ridge's Mary Kathryn Knott runs during Friday's Cross Country State Championships at Carrollton High School in Carrollton. (Photo: Karl L. Moore)

The state’s all-area and all-region cross country teams were covered with Gwinnett County runners this season.

The first-team selections are runners who placed first through seventh at the area or region meet, while the second-team runners finished eighth to 14th at area/region.

Here’s a look at the high-schoolers who received recognition for superb seasons:


Boys first team

Chase Condra, Peachtree Ridge

Christian Corsello, Parkview

Kai Brickey, Collins Hill

Axel Avalos, Central Gwinnett

Thomas Ridley, Brookwood

Paul Pollock, Mill Creek

Boys second team

Alex Haggard, Peachtree Ridge

Anthony Urmetz, Collins Hill

Gyasi Cockrell, Collins Hill

Caleb Iwan, Mountain View

Girls first team

Mary Kathryn Knott, Peachtree Ridge

Sarah Melkerson, North Gwinnett

Marisa Petit, Mill Creek

Reese Saddler, Brookwood

Chloe Hetherington, Mountain View

Makenna Kulzer, North Gwinnett

Girls second team

Madison Watts, Mountain View

Maggie O’Leary, Norcross

Hanna Gatland, Brookwood

Elizabeth Saliba, Brookwood

Abbey Pinkerton, North Gwinnett

Lyndsey Fowler, North Gwinnett


Boys first team

James Cragin, Archer

Myles Collins, Archer

Chris Cherono, Grayson

Gabe McNett, Grayson

John Klima, Archer

David Gunn, Grayson

Boys second team

Robert Cranston, Shiloh

Ty Freeman, Grayson

Colby Freeman, Grayson

Spencer Vitense, Shiloh

Emmanuel Devore, Grayson

Lucas Bumgarner, Archer

Girls first team

Kayla Langston, Grayson

Sarah McCartney, Archer

Kelly Connerley, Archer

Eva Ross, Grayson

Girls second team

Erica Richey, Grayson

Gracie Botsford, Grayson

Nina Lewis, Archer

Grace Carpenter, Archer

Tai Cossier, Shiloh

Region 8-AAAAAA

Boys first team

Michael Rowe, Dacula

Alex Medley, Dacula

Yahya Abdulkadir, Dacula

Ben Butcher, Dacula

Boys second team

Jacob Gilbert, Dacula

Nathaniel Larrazabal, Lanier

Hayden Baker, Dacula

Girls first team

Skylar English, Dacula

Zoie Gardner, Lanier

Najiyah King, Dacula

Madelyn McVannan, Dacula

Girls second team

Brianna Thomas, Dacula

Mollie Potts, Dacula

Miranda Colon, Dacula

Katie Kress, Lanier

Region 8-AAAAA

Boys second team

Brendon Allen, Buford

Girls first team

Sarah Davis, Buford

Caroline Montini, Buford

Region 7-AAA

Boys first team

David Reed, Greater Atlanta Christian

Area 2 Class A Private

Boys first team

Ethan Selph, Hebron

Brandon Potra, Hebron

Mac Howie, Wesleyan

Boys second team

Landon King, Providence

Joel Duffie, Providence

Michael Fabiano, Hebron

Peter Hess, Wesleyan

Blake Fugel, Hebron

Girls first team

Jennifer Woolery, Providence

Ayden Drake, Providence

Amanda Jackson, Hebron

Caitlin Kelly, Wesleyan

Girls second team

Taylor Simmons, Providence

Maddie Wheatly, Providence

Mikayla John, Wesleyan

Ashley Doran, Wesleyan

Stay Informed