Australia and Denmark are each off to 2-0 starts after Day 1 of the Overwatch World Cup group-stage qualifiers at Thailand.

All matches are four-game sets. If the two teams each win two games, a fifth game is added as a tiebreaker. The top two teams from the group will advance to a single-elimination playoff bracket.

Australia beat Spain 3-1 in its first match before following with a sweep of host Thailand.

Denmark opened the day with a 3-1 win over Thailand before getting past Spain 2-1-1.

China defeated Sweden 3-1 to round out the first day of action.

The three-day Thailand qualifiers will conclude Sunday. The France qualifiers will take place next weekend, the last of the four group stages.

The host United States and Canada emerged from the Los Angeles qualifiers last weekend. Host South Korea and Finland came out of the Incheon qualifiers last month.

The final eight teams compete at BlizzCon 2018 in November.

--Field Level Media

Stay Informed

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please log in, or sign up for a new, free account to read or post comments.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.