The Gwinnett Tipoff Club announced its postseason awards this week for the best in local high school basketball.

Grayson’s Deivon Smith was named the county’s boys player of the year, while the girls player of the year honor was shared between Wesleyan’s Avyonce Carter and Buford’s Tate Walters.

Lanier’s Branden Mayweather and Grayson’s Geoffrey Pierce shared boys coach of the year honors. The girls coaches of the year both won state championships — Greater Atlanta Christian’s Jessica Guarneri and Buford’s Gene Durden.

The club also awarded three Joe Marelle Awards to players for overcoming adversity — Grayson’s Jalen Oglesby, Duluth’s Divine Drayton and Brookwood’s Shannon Niles.

The club also named its all-county teams and scholar-athletes. Those selections are as follows:

Boys First Team

R.J. Godfrey, North Gwinnett

Caleb Golden, Shiloh

C.J. Hines, Archer

Sion James, Lanier

Andrew McConnell, Lanier

Caleb Murphy, Grayson

London Riley, Discovery

Jabiri Smith, Collins Hill

J.T. Thor, Norcross

Elijah Williams, Providence

Boys Second Team

Sebastian Augustave, Buford; Varun Danak, Brookwood; Jalen DeLoach, Berkmar; Jared Ivey, North Gwinnett; Zawdie Jackson, Shiloh; Miles Kelly, Parkview; Toneari Lane, Grayson; Ian Schieffelin, Grayson; Christian Williams, Peachtree Ridge; Zion Wimby, Mill Creek

Girls First Team

Kaleigh Addie, GAC

Nicole Azar, Hebron

Diana Collins, Brookwood

Zuriyah Davis, Lanier

Malia Fisher, Hebron

Ava Irvin, GAC

Paige Lyons, Wesleyan

Sussy Ngulefac, Parkview

Yamani Paul, Norcross

Eden Sample, Collins Hill

Lazaria Spearman, Dacula

Sacha Washington, Collins Hill

Girls Second Team

Akaya Chaney, Discovery; Kamryn Collins, Collins Hill; Christabel Ezumah, Lanier; Alexis Figures, Mill Creek; Malia Grace, Grayson; Asjah Inniss, Collins Hill; Selma Kulo, Brookwood; Nadya McCown, Peachtree Ridge; Cazia Nelson, Archer; Alyssa Phillip, Wesleyan; Nyla Rose-Moore, Dacula; Ashyia Willis, Buford

Scholar-Athlete Award

Archer: Maya Jackson, Brent Smith

Berkmar: Fatou Barry, Julius Reynolds

Brookwood: Mia Bongcaron, Khalil Jones

Buford: Katelyn Klein, Connor Johnson

Central Gwinnett: Adedoyin Adeyemo, Kenneth L. Jackson II

Collins Hill: Kamryn Collins, Khayleb Belton

Dacula: Maddie Ananthasane, David Felix

Discovery: Primera Hour, Ian Davis

Duluth: Megan Mares, Matt Sigunga

Grayson: Trinity Morton, Taje Kelly

Greater Atlanta Christian: Jillian Thomas, Cliff Baskerville

Hebron: Ella Heard, Garrett Coleman

Lanier: Morgan Manley, Goran Uzunov

Meadowcreek: Keyouncia Reaves, Kendall Campbell

Mill Creek: Bryanne Buchanan-Cummings, Alex Garrison

Mountain View: Samantha Gurewitz, A.J. Robertson

Norcross: Jada Warren, Izaiah Williams

North Gwinnett: Morgan Frye, Matt Gilbert

Parkview: Lilly Hart, Jason Edwards

Peachtree Ridge: Lauren Edwards, Moctar Keita

Providence: Megan Knight, Sam Johnson

Shiloh: Philli King, Caleb Golden

South Gwinnett: Alira Allen, Michael Carter

Wesleyan: Lauren Hill, Andrew Van Wie

Stay Informed

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please log in, or sign up for a new, free account to read or post comments.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.