2018 Gwinnett Daily Post All-County Tennis Teams

North Gwinnett's Emma Fleming chases down a ball Tuesday in the Region 6-AAAAAAA Tournament finals at Hamilton Mill. (Photo: Will Hammock)


Player of the Year: Thomas Montroy, Brookwood, Jr.

• Went 10-3 in the regular season, 12-4 overall; UTR of 11.04

Coach of the Year: Sean Gilbert, Buford

• Guided the Buford boys tennis team to a Class AAAAA runner-up finish; overall record of 19-3

First team singles

Reuben Dayal, Brookwood, Jr.

• Went 14-0 in the regular season, 16-1 overall; UTR of 10.35

Whit Duncan, North Gwinnett, Sr.

• All-region pick played No. 1 singles for state quarterfinal team

Simar Bajwa, Peachtree Ridge, Soph.

• Led Lions on court No. 1 singles; All-region 6-AAAAAAA first team

First team doubles

Michael Porcelli, Soph., and Chase Ruff, Soph., Brookwood

• Regular season record of 10-2; 12-3 overall

Josh Kim, Soph.; and Connor Pearce, Sr., North Gwinnett

• First team all-region for state quarterfinal team

Second team singles

Brandon Ly, Parkview, Jr.

Matthew Sloan, North Gwinnett, Fr.

Tyler Kane, Norcross, Sr.

Second team doubles

Alex Karwisch, Jr. and Sam Carton, Jr., Norcross

Joseph Benken, Sr. and Lukas Blake, Soph., Parkview


Player of the Year: Cassidy Rebol, North Gwinnett, Jr.

• 12-1 record at No. 1 singles; Deco Turf singles and doubles all-tournament team.

Coach of the Year: Forrest Wood, North Gwinnett

• Guided North Gwinnett girls tennis to fourth consecutive Region 6-AAAAAAA title in final season before retirement

First team singles

Alex Mann, Buford, Fr.

• Undefeated freshman season with only one three-set match at No. 1 singles

Emma Fleming, North Gwinnett, Sr.

• 17-1 overall record on North’s No. 1 and No. 2 singles court; 3-0 in doubles play

Brooke Bolton, Mill Creek, Fr.

• All-region selection helped Mill Creek to state playoffs

First team doubles

Elle Hammond, Sr. and Maya Diaz, Jr., North Gwinnett

• First-team all-region for state quarterfinalist

Haden Jones, Jr. and Grace Tyler, Jr., Wesleyan

• Steady pair for area championship team

Second team singles

Avery Watson, Brookwood, Sr.

Kendra Womack, Brookwood, Jr.

Bri Olps, North Gwinnett, Jr.

Second team doubles

Madison Smeeton, Sr. and Emma Withrow, Soph., Brookwood

Kenzie Harms, Soph., and Sydney Grothe, Sr., Buford

Stay Informed