Grayson’s basketball program dominated the All-Region 8-AAAAAAA awards, which were voted on by the league’s coaches.

The Rams’ Jazmin Robinson was named the region’s girls player of the year, while the boys player of the year was Deivon Smith. Their coaches, Robin Potter and Geoffrey Pierce, were selected as the region’s coaches of the year. They led their teams to region championships this past weekend.

The all-region teams also included the following:


First team

Makaya Cushion, Newton

Chae Harris, Shiloh

Amari Heard, Archer

Nadia Howard, Grayson

Diamond Swift, Rockdale

Second team

Kourtlan Carter, Rockdale

Victoria Dames, Grayson

Rachel Hilliard, Newton

Maya Jackson, Archer

Cazia Nelson, Archer

Honorable mention: Cathy Alben, Grayson; Joze Baker, Shiloh; Jada Franklin, Newton; Philli King, Shiloh; Nyelle Lee, Grayson; Shaquice May, Rockdale; Alana Moore, Rockdale; Gabby Parks, South Gwinnett; Ari Silva, Archer


First team

Tre Clark, Newton

Armani Harris, Newton

Zawdie Jackson, South Gwinnett

Toneari Lane, Shiloh

Kendall Lewis, Shiloh

Jevon Tatum, Grayson

Second team

Tyrease Brown, Newton

Justin Edmondson, Archer

Jalen Horton, Rockdale

Jaheim Hudson, South Gwinnett

Ian Schieffelin, Grayson

Honorable mention: Josiah Agnew, Shiloh; Darius Garcia, Shiloh; Reco Hallmon, Grayson; Max Harris, South Gwinnett; C.J. Hines, Archer; Jheim McDonald, Rockdale; Shawn Smith, Newton

Stay Informed