Discovery’s Leslie Nkereuwem and Collins Hill’s Javyn Nicholson were named players of the year on the all-Region 6-AAAAAAA basketball team, which was released Saturday by the league’s coaches.

Collins Hill’s Brian Harmon and Duluth’s April Tate were voted co-coaches of the year by the region coaches. The boys coach of the year honor was determined by selecting the region winner, Cory Cason of Discovery.

The coaches also honored the following all-region selections:


First team

Kamryn Collins, Mountain View

Malia Fisher, North Gwinnett

Katherine Fourie, Collins Hill

Bria Harmon, Collins Hill

Kayla Mulkey, Mill Creek

Jordan Releford, Collins Hill

Torey Walker, Duluth

Second team

Yewande Bello, Peachtree Ridge

Ashleigh Boulin, Duluth

Denver Bryant, Duluth

Akaya Chaney, Discovery

Kyasia Overstreet, Discovery

Madison Riley, Mill Creek

Honorable mention

Yasmine Fairchild, Discovery; Katherine Fernandez, North Gwinnett; Kyra Jefferson, Duluth; Nadya McCown, Peachtree Ridge; Rebecca Walters, Collins Hill; Anna Williams, Mill Creek; Briana Williams, Mountain View


First team

Nahiem Alleyne, Mountain View

Devin Evans, Duluth

B.J. Knight, Peachtree Ridge

Hasahnn Reynolds, Discovery

Jabiri Smith, Collins Hill

Second team

Chandler Johnston, North Gwinnett

Jack Kostel, Mill Creek

Kendall Latney, Mill Creek

Kamerron Oyola, Peachtree Ridge

Jaden Walker, Discovery

Honorable mention

Jordan Blue, Duluth; Dawit Cridland, Collins Hill; Trent Gordon, Duluth; Ian Hardy, Discovery; Jared Ivey, North Gwinnett; Eric Jones, Mountain View; Connor McCormick, North Gwinnett; London Riley, Discovery; Richard Rivers, Peachtree Ridge; Cam Rowland, Mountain View; Christian Williams, Peachtree Ridge

Stay Informed