You have permission to edit this page.


Gwinnett Newspaper History

1958 — The Lawrenceville News Herald begins publication in Gwinnett County

1964 — Robert D. Fowler, previously editor of the Marietta Daily Journal buys the News Herald and two other Gwinnett weeklies: The Buford Advertiser and the News of Gwinnett.

1965 — Fowler combines the three weeklies into one daily paper, The Gwinnett Daily News.

1970 — Bruce Still, advertising director of the Daily News, leaves to start his own weekly paper, The Lawrenceville Home Weekly.

1987 — The Gwinnett Daily News, recognized as one of the premier small dailies in the country, is offered for sale by the Fowler family.

1987 — The Daily News is sold to the New York Times Company and is staffed up for expansion.

1988 — The Daily News is expanded with distribution and news coverage into Fulton, Dekalb and Cobb Counties.

1990 — In January, The Daily News relocates from its Born Street in Lawrenceville to a new multi-million dollar facility off I-85 near Gwinnett Place in Duluth.

1992 — In September, The Daily News is shut down by the New York Times and the assets are sold to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

1992 — In October, The Gwinnett Home Weekly makes an expansion, changes its name to the Gwinnett Post-Tribune, and begins publishing twice weekly.

1994 — The Post-Tribune moves to tri-weekly publication in April.

1995 — In January, The Post-Tribune is acquired Gray Communications Systems, headquartered in Albany, GA.

1995 — On September 5, the paper is renamed The Gwinnett Daily Post, and moves to Tuesday through Saturday publication.

1997 — On May 4, the paper adds a Sunday edition, and begins expanded distribution through an alliance with a cable provider. Circulation rises to 48,000.

1998 — In March, a second cable alliance is formed, moving the paper’s circulation to over 63,000, and filling in the distribution pattern for most of northeast Gwinnett County and portions of Barrow and Hall Counties.

2005 — On December 30, Gray Television Inc.’s board of directors approved a spinoff of its newspaper publishing and wireless business, giving the paper a new owner, Triple Crown Media in Lexington, Ky.

Publishers April 1970-December 1994 — Bruce Still January 1995-May 1995 — David Still May 1995-December 1995 — Joe Cunningham February 1996- February 1999 — Rick Rae February 1999- March 2001 — Leo Pieri March 2001-September 2004 — Tom Stultz September 2004-September 2005 — Bob McCray October 2005-April 2015 — J.K. Murphy